web analytics

The World’s Top 10 Largest Cricket Venues

Cricket is one of the most popular sports in the world, so stadiums must be large enough to accommodate as many fans as feasible. Cricket’s popularity can be demonstrated in a variety of ways. On a betting site in the United Kingdom (one of many online bookies that have included this sport in its playbooks, most of which are promoted at Bookmaker-Expert.com), an estimated £71 million was wagered on the Indian Premier League Final in 2019 in which the Mumbai Indians beat the Chennai Super Kings. 

Despite the fact that most cricket matches are transmitted on television or can be watched via live stream, many fans prefer to see the action unfold in person, at least that’s how it was before the pandemic, i.e. at the stadium. After all, witnessing a match in person is far more appealing than watching it on TV.

Here’s a list of the world’s largest cricket stadiums, along with their capacities…

Narendra Modi Stadium (India)

This stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India, is more known as Sardar Patel Stadium, but also as Motera Cricket Stadium and is the first large cricket stadium on our list. It has a capacity of 110,000. According to known data, the Sardar Patel is considered the biggest cricket stadium in the world.

Shashi Prabhu was the architect behind the construction of this monster, which was erected in 1982 and later repaired in 2020. The stadium was rebuilt at a cost of 8 billion rupees ($ 106.7 million). 

As we said, the Sardar Patel Stadium is also known as the Motera Cricket Stadium, owing to the fact that it was created specifically for cricket. Mr. Donald Trump, the President of the United States, was present during the inauguration of a reconstructed venue.

Melbourne Cricket Ground (Australia)

The Melbourne Cricket Ground, in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, is ranked second on the list. It was completed in 1853 and has a seating capacity of 100,024.

The first Test match ever played in the world was held exactly at this Aussie cricket ground. It took place between March 15 and 19, 1877.

Eden Gardens (India)

Eden Gardens is an unusual but beautifully named cricket stadium. It was built about 1864 in Kolkata, West Bengal, India, and has a seating capacity of 66,349.

Because it’s India’s most popular cricket venue, this ground is sometimes referred to as the ‘Mecca of Indian cricket’ and as a ‘batsman’s paradise’ since it has the fastest outfield of any cricket ground in the country. The first cricket match to be played here was a Test match and was held between January 5 and 8, 1934.

Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium (India)

The next major cricket venue on our list has a distinctive name, just like the previous one. In Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India, the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium is located. It was completed in 2008, therefore, it’s one of the newer stadiums. Also referred to as Naya Raipur International Cricket Stadium, it’s a 21st-century stadium given all the features and appearance, with a seating capacity of 65,000 people.

Despite the fact that it has yet to hold an international cricket match, this stadium has been dubbed one of the best in the world. The first cricket match was held here in 2010, and it was a practice match in which Chhattisgarh, the Ranji team, and the Canadian national team faced.

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (India)

The Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, which was opened in 2003, is another 21st-century venue. It’s situated in Hyderabad, Telangana, India, and has a capacity of 60,000 spectators.

Between November 12 and 16, 2010, this ground staged its inaugural cricket match. It was a Test match between India and New Zealand. The stadium is multifunctional and is used for soccer matches too.

Greenfield International Stadium (India)

Greenfield International Stadium in Trivandrum, Kerala, India, is the No. 6 stadium in the world. This cricket ground, formerly known as Trivandrum International Stadium, which has a capacity of 55,000 spectators, was erected in 2014.

A T20 match between New Zealand and India was the first cricket match held at it. November 7, 2017, is the date when the match took place.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (India)

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, which seats 55,000 people, is located in Kochi, Kerala, India. It was established in 1996.

Despite the fact that it’s a cricket venue, Kaloor Stadium (as locals prefer to call it) is occasionally used to host football events. An ODI match between Australia and India was the first cricket match ever played on this ground – on April 1, 1998.

DY Patil Sports Stadium (India)

The next stadium on our list is the DY Patil Sports Stadium, which was erected in 2008 and has a capacity of 55,000 spectators. Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India is home to this cricket ground.

The stadium’s cantilever roof avoids the need for any supports, giving fans an unimpeded view of the game from any seat in the stands. Cricket and soccer are both played at this facility equally. At the time, it appears that more soccer matches are staged there than cricket matches.

Adelaide Oval (Australia)

Adelaide Oval is an Australian cricket ground in Adelaide, South Australia. It was constructed in 1871 and has a seating capacity of 53,583. It gets its name from the fact that it’s oval in shape.

The Oval is regarded as one of Australia’s, if not the world’s, most beautiful Test cricket venues. After its most recent redevelopment in 2014, the arena is mostly used for cricket and Australian rules football, but it has also hosted rugby league, rugby union, soccer, and tennis, among other sports, as well as hosting concerts on a regular basis.

Ekana International Cricket Stadium (India)

Finally, in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, India, we have the Ekana International Cricket Stadium. It was completed in 2017 and has a seating capacity of 50,000 people. Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, or BRSABV Ekana, is its full name.

It’s a public-private partnership stadium that serves as the home ground for Afghanistan’s national cricket team in India.

Leave a Comment