web analytics

Rules and Regulations of Cricket: Bowling, Batting, Dismissal Rules

In this article, we will be discussing different Rules and Regulations of Cricket: Bowling, Batting, and Dismissal Rules. Like other games, there are certain rules that everyone has to follow while batting, bawling, and fielding. The player is scored run according to the rules and regulations of the cricket. If they disobey any rule then the player will be punished accordingly.

Rules and Regulations of Cricket Bowling, Batting, Dismissal Rules

Rules and Regulations of Cricket: Bowling, Batting, Dismissal Rules:

General Structure:

Before discussing the rules and regulations of cricket we will be talking about the basic structure of the cricket.

1۔ Team:

There are various teams formed for the cricket to be played. At one time only two teams could play cricket on the pitch or ground. In each team, there are eleven players. One team balls and the other team goes for the batting.

2. Innings:

An inning is defined as a period in which one team bats and the other team balls. In any cricket match, a team has two innings one as the bowling team and then the second time as the batting team.

3۔ Batting:

One of the teams wins the toss and decides whether to bat or ball. If it chooses batting then the team will score the runs on bowling of the other team. The runs are scored by running between the stumps.

4۔ Bowling:

The bowling is done against the batting team. The teams that bats score the runs on the incoming ball. The bowling is done in different styles against the opposition team.

5۔ Scoring:

The batting team scores the runs against the bowling team. The are various ways to run the stumps, hitting four, getting extra scores on no ball, wide ball, etc.

6۔ Dismissal of the Batter:

The player or batsmen can be dismissed in different ways like by catching the call, running out, hitting the wicket, etc. We will be talking about each of them one by one.

7۔ Inning change:

When the inning of the first team completes, then the second team will initiate it inning. A team can have two innings in a single match. The innings of batting then the innings of bowling.

8۔ Fielding:

The teams that balls also have a fielding team that covers the whole ground to either prevent the scoring of runs, catch the ball, stop the boundaries, etc.

9۔ Overs:

The full match is divided into various over consisting of different no of balls. In T20 there are 20 overs. Each over consists of 6 balls and a total of 120 balls. After a certain no of overs, the bowler changes and batting continues.

10۔ Result:

The batting team sets the target for the other team. If the other team chases the given target it wins otherwise the other team gets to trophy.

Bowling Rules in Cricket:

Now we will be talking about the different rules of bowling. There are different bowling styles that bowler adopts to dismiss the batter.

  • Front Foot no-ball:

If the front foot of the blower crosses the designated crease on the pitch then this type of t   is known afronfrontothe no ball. This type of ball will be considered as no ball.

  • Back foot no-ball:

This type of no-ball happens when the back foot of the bowler crosses the popping crease perpendicular to the stamps.

  • Wide ball:

This is also a type of no-ball but the better get a score on it. The bowler balls the batter outside his reach. Then it becomes impossible for the bowler to play such a ball.

  • Beamer:

This is also one of the types of no-balls. The bowler balls at a very high speed and the balls reach the height of the player without bouncing.

  • Bouncer restrictions:

This is one restriction in the limited-over matches in which a bowler can throw a limited number of bouncers to the batter.

Batting Rules in Cricket:

Now we will talk about the different rules that are assigned to the batting team on the ground. We will going to discuss them one by one.

  • Legal deliveries:

The Bateman only faces and encounters those bthathat which legal. If the bowler throws no ball, wide ball, or illegal balls then the batting team will get extra scores for that.

  • Runs:

The batter will score the runs on the incoming balls. There are different for score runs like hitting sixes or fours, running between the stumps, etc. When running between the stumps, the team gets one score or run when both batters run toward each other and reach the other end of the pitch.

  • Free hit or No ball:

If the bowler throws the no ball or free hit towards the batter, then an extra score or run will be given to the opposing team. In free hit, the batsman will not be considered our except run out.

  • Retired hurt:

If the batter gets hurt or injured then he can leave the ground. If after some time, he feels better then continue the game. And if cannot, then quit and will be called “ Retired Hurt”.

 Dismissal Rules:

In the end, we will talk about the dismissal rule. We will going to discuss each of them one by one.

  • Bowled:

If the ball hits the Wicket or stamp then the player will be dismissed and will leave the pitch.

  • Catch:

Similarly, the player will be dismissed if the ball hit by the batter is caught by the amber of the opposing team.

  • Leg Before Wicket:

The player will be dismissed when the ball touches any part of the batter’s leg. But there are some exceptions. He will be considered out when the ball hits the specific part of the leg.

  • Run out:

Similarly, if the batter takes the runs by running between the stamps are the fielder throws the ball towards the stamps and hits it then he will be considered out. He will be considered out if he has not touched the crease.

  • 3-meter rule:

In the 3-meter rule, the player will be considered as not out if the distance between the stamp and the pad of the batsman is 3 meters or more.


In this article, we have talked about the different rules and regulations of cricket. We first talked about the general structure of the cricket. Then we discussed the bowling, batting, and dismissal rules.

Leave a Comment